Holy Hot Mama Harissa!

Harissa is a hot chili pepper-based sauce that is attributed to Tunisian genius.  It is a wonderful addition to meats as well as vegetables.  It’s also good on foods that have a yogurt-based sauce, such as the Turkish Mantı.  A friend of mine gave me a healthy handful of cayenne peppers from her garden.  Since I am just me and, while I loooove peppers, it was a whole lotta cayenne for just me.  SO…I pulled out my collection of recipes and cobbled together a recipe for harissa, since I couldn’t find one I liked and/or fit what I have on hand.  It didn’t turn out quite as hot as I thought it would, but I have the feeling that it’s going to get hotter the longer it sits.  Below, is the resulting recipe:

Holy Hot Mama Harissa

6 fresh cayenne peppers, seeded and chopped (more, if you like it hot hot hot!)
4 Tablespoons chopped canned pimientos/sweet red peppers
3 cloves garlic, minced (more or less, depending on your feelings about garlic)
1/2 teaspoon salt
1 teaspoon ground coriander
1 teaspoon cumin

Blend/process/mash all the ingredients together in a bowl until it’s homogeneous. Put the portion you aren’t using immediately into a glass container. Gently drizzle olive oil on top to create a film for keeping air from ruining your masterpiece and store it in the refrigerator. It should last up to a month, but you probably will use it up by then. It’s that nommy!

 

Leave a Reply

